Skip to content

Things I Eat: Homemade Pasta

July 12, 2011

Things I Eat

… my way of giving credit to my culinary caretakers, aka the people and places that make my foodie heart skip a beat.  They may not be extravagant.  Sometimes, they may be very simple.  It’s just the food that makes me joyful.
_________________________________________________________________________

The Natural Gourmet Institute Chef Training Program Pasta Day

Pasta-making day at culinary class has been one of my favorites so far.  In anticipation of the geometric designs  I brought my camera.

We made a variety of doughs; from egg and all-purpose flour to whole wheat and vegan.  Some of my peers added color and flavor with spices or spinach.  Others added flair with a topping, like the butter and poppyseed sauce below, garnished with sage.  The stuffings included olive tapenade, sautéed butternut squash, goat cheese, tofu “ricotta” and mushroom redux.

What do you think?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2011 2:22 pm

    I’ve been craving ravioli for a week! But pasta is the one thing I’ve been a little afraid of trying to make. :S Is it hard?!

    The tortellini are so cute!

    • July 14, 2011 12:11 am

      Ravioli is the simplest to make if you don’t have a pasta maker. You can roll the dough with a rolling pin, until about 1/8 inch; place drops of stuffing every couple of inches (depending on the size you’re making) then, fold over the dough to form a row of pillows. Pinch the edges so the stuffing won’t escape and cut out the pillows (like the photos). Boil time depends on size.

      My instructor says that pasta should be eaten the same day it’s made. Making dough by hand is a delight, but the food processor takes absolutely no time at all. Just be sure to wrap the dough and let it sit at room temp. for at least 30 minutes before rolling it out to ravioli.

      That’s my extremely condensed instruction. I can totally send you more info if you like and recipes for dough!

Leave a Reply

