Skip to content

Whole Wheat Hamburger Buns

May 20, 2011

Baking bread for the first time has certainly sparked, within me, anew kind of passion for baking.  Visiting Amy’s Bread at the Chelsea Market a couple of times has definitely helped as well.  Watching professionals form buns, twists and loaves may just be my new favorite pastime.  Their efficiency is impeccable.  Though Chelsea Market always smells of sweet cupcakes and brownies, I can’t help but avoid them all and head straight to the bread shop.

If I lose my sweet tooth, will I need to change the blog name?

Whatever, it’s all sweet inspiration right?  And, I have yet to even loosen my sweet tooth.  In fact, I learned all about sweeteners today in class, so I’ll be back to baking treats soon.  Only now that I have reliable information, I’ll be working with healthier alternatives.

For now, back to sandwich breads.

Kneading bread is a total hands on art form.  I don’t bother with a mixer.  For me, it’s more enjoyable and therapeutic to form the dough with my bare hands, to feel it’s weight and texture change and smell the yeast.  No worries if you don’t knead, when the recipe calls for kneading “until smooth and elastic,” use a standing mixer to work the dough for about 10 minutes until the texture forms. This recipe originally comes from Mother Earth News.  I made a few alterations; simply adding more whole wheat flour in place of all-purpose. The buns overall are firm, but light and slightly sweet.  In the future, I will halve the sugar. Decide what’s best for you and go for it.  It’s quite satisfying  to eat a homemade burger with a homemade bun.  That’s so (from) scratch!

Whole Wheat Hamburger Buns
Recipe adapted from Mother Earth News
Makes 6

1 cup warm milk (lukewarm is 85°-105°)
4 Tablespoons unsalted butter, partially melted in the milk
1 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon instant yeast (if substituting with active yeast, dissolve it in the milk before adding other ingredients)
_________________________________________
1/4 cup warm water
2 teaspoons instant yeast
1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
2 Tablespoons granulated sugar
1 1/2 teaspoon salt

1: In a large bowl mix milk, butter, flours and yeast.  Cover and let sit for 2 hours or overnight in a warm location.  (For overnight, it may be necessary to cover the batter with a plastic wrap to keep it from drying out.  I wrapped it with a damp cloth, then covered the bowl with another clean cloth and the batter was fine.)
2:
In a separate bowl, mix water and yeast.  Work into the rest of the batter.  Slowly mix in remaining flours, sugar and salt.
3: On a clean and lightly floured surface, knead dough until smooth and elastic.  Roll into a ball.  Lightly oil outside of the dough, place back in the bowl and cover.  Allow for 1 hour to rise in a warm location.
4:  Preheat oven to 375°F. Prepare baking sheet with parchment paper or lightly oil the bottom.
5: Cut dough into 6 equal parts, then roll each part into a round bun.  Place on the baking sheet, but allow about 5-10 minutes before baking.  Dough will become slightly puffier.  Bake for 15-20 minutes, until golden brown.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2011 4:35 pm

    Those look great. I use a whole wheat recipe for my buns, and my wife says they’re too dense. These are on my list to try.

  2. May 25, 2011 12:20 pm

    These were so good! Just sweet enough, and a perfect chewy texture.

Trackbacks

  1. Polenta & Bean Burgers «

Leave a Reply

