Skip to content

Hamantaschen

March 17, 2011

I simply love having my mom’s cookie recipes in my own little kitchen now!  I would never argue with a cookie package from her (hint, hint mom), but it’s so delightful to have access to the taste of home whenever my heart desires and my pantry is stocked.  When is it not though, these days?  I’ve completed the Anise Cookie challenge and recently made mom’s Lemon Zucchini Drops.  Today it’s Hamantaschen.  These are traditional Jewish cookies baked for Purim, a festival that celebrates the liberation of the Jewish people from Haman the Agitate.

To tell the truth, my family isn’t Jewish.  This is my grandma’s recipe, and I believe she began baking the cookies to impress her  doctor.  What can I say?  We’re a family of bakers, it’s what we do despite cultural relation.  These little guys have been in the family quite a while and make an appearance at all major family events I can think of…birthdays…my high school graduation party…my wedding.  Today I made the cookies to freeze, so that they can comfortably make an appearance at our my birthday/our going away party.   Yep, going away.  Jonathan and I are moving in two weeks to a new kitchen…in New York City.  I’ll provide more details soon, but for now, enjoy the eye candy.  Go bake!  Purim is this Saturday.

Hamantaschen
Makes 24-36 depending on size

Ingredients:
2 eggs
1/2 c. canola oil
1/2 c. + 2 Tbsp granulated sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 3/4 c. unbleached all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
2 c. fruit preserve or poppy seed paste

1: Preheat oven to 350°F.  Lightly oil baking sheets or prepare with parchment paper.
2: In a large bowl, beat together eggs, oil, sugar and vanilla.
3: In another large bowl, sift together flour, salt and baking powder.  Slowly stir in flour mixture with wet ingredients, until a stiff dough forms.  Gently knead dough, if needed, to fully incorporate ingredients.
4: On a clean and lightly floured surface, roll out dough to 1/4-inch thickness.  Cut dough into 3-inch or 4-inch rounds, using a pastry cutter or a cup.  Drop a spoonful of filling in the center of each round. Shape into a triangle by folding on side at a time or by pinching the three corners.  (If you decide to pinch the edges, be sure to press the dough together firmly to keep the filling from running.)  Bake 20 minutes or until edges are golden brown.

One Comment leave one →
  1. donna barnett permalink
    March 19, 2011 9:35 pm

    they look good and right, but if you have trouble w/dough, i have written to knead and knead and knead the dough. not my fav to make.

Leave a Reply

