Skip to content

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Bourbon Sauce

January 12, 2011

Inspired by Bobby Flay’s Thanksgiving Throwdown episode on the Food Network, I made this Kentucky bourbon dessert for my in-laws at Christmas.  After not being able to find a proper recipe for my Sweet Potato Cheesecake, inspired by Harriet’s Cheesecakes, I guess I had an impression I wouldn’t be able to find Bobby Flay’s Pumpkin Bread Pudding.

Silly.

Next time, I’ll make his.  Just reading it makes my mouth water.

Bread pudding is one of my all-time favorite desserts!  I have a milk allergy, so I made this with soy milk so that I could eat to my heart’s desire.  Just a good note in case someone else needs a substitute.

Since I was raised a Kentucky girl, I recommend using Kentucky bourbon.  I used Maker’s Mark.  It’s handmade in a small scale near Lincoln’s birthplace.  After testing out the recipe, I would recommend  using a sweeter, smoother bourbon for non-bourbon drinkers.  Something such as Four Roses Small Batch.

The bread recipe belongs to my sister-in-law and is by far one of the most beautiful sweet breads I ever pulled out of the oven!  My only wish is that I had another pumpkin to sacrifice for that cinnamon-pumpkin aroma and warm, fluffy texture.

This recipe definitely boast a bourbon flavor, but is beautifully complimented by fruity bursts of cranberry, and the sweet, creamy texture of soaked pumpkin loaf.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Bourbon Sauce
Bread adapted from my sister-in-law’s personal recipe
Sauce and pudding adapted from Bread Pudding Recipe
Serves 8-10

Pumpkin Bread
1 c. unbleached all-purpose flour
1 c. whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ginger
1/4 tsp cloves
1 tsp cinnamon
1 c. brown sugar
1/2 c. margarine
2 eggs
1 c. pumpkin puree (fresh or canned)

To Do:
1: Preheat oven to 350°F. Lightly grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan.
2: In a large bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cloves, ginger and cinnamon.
3: In a medium bowl, cream together sugar and margarine.  Add pumpkin and eggs, one at a time until fully incorporated.  Combine with dry ingredients.
4: Pour into loaf pan and bake for 50-60 minutes. Allow for time to cool.  Remove from pan and cut into 1/2 inch cubes.
5: Drop heat to 300°F.  Place bread cubes on a large baking sheet.  Bake 15-20 minutes until dry and slightly toasted.  Turn at least once.  Let cool.

Bourbon Sauce
1/2 c. butter
1 c. sugar
1 egg
3/4 c. bourbon whisky

To Do:
1: Heat a small saucepan on medium-low and melt butter. Slowly add sugar and egg. Whisk until mixture thickens. Add bourbon, just until incorporated.  Remove from heat, cover and set aside. Stir just before serving. Mixture should be creamy and smooth.

Bread Pudding
1 loaf pumpkin bread, cubed and toasted
1 qt (soy) milk
3 eggs, lightly beaten
2 c. granulated sugar
2 Tbsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 c. dried cranberries, soaked 2 hours or overnight in 1/4 cup bourbon
3 Tbsp butter, melted

To Do:
1: Set oven to 350°F.  In a large bowl, soak bread with milk until well absorbed.
2: In a medium bowl, beat together eggs, sugar, vanilla extract and cinnamon. Fold into bread mixture.  Fold in cranberries.
3: Spread melted butter on bottom and sides of a 9×13 inch baking pan.  Gently pour in bread mixture and bake 35-45 minutes until edges begin to brown and pull away from the pan. Top with bourbon sauce and serve warm.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna permalink
    January 13, 2011 3:22 am

    Hmm… I wonder if the bread will make it to the second recipe. Sounds delicious though!

  2. January 13, 2011 11:31 pm

    It is! Glad to see this one up here. Mmmm… (commence drooling)

Leave a Reply

