Skip to content

Chocolate Truffles

January 8, 2011

To my chocolate-fanatic husband, chocolate truffles are one of the world’s greatest treasure.  Only chocolate ice cream surpasses such homemade goodness.  Should I develop a knack for making ice cream, I am positive that my all my efforts will be appreciated, but exhausted in less than a week.  Considering the source of the speedy consumption, I’d rather leave Jonathan in charge of learning how to make ice cream.

I attempted my first batch a few months ago but, they turned out completely unlike the shiny photo in my cookbook.  They were too soft, misshaped and melted chocolate everywhere!  Jonathan’s mom passed along this recipe to me, so I shared the result with her over Christmas.  This time they actually held together!

I used a dark Russian chocolate baking bar  with a deep cocoa flavor, balanced with just enough sweetness and dark chocolate cocoa powder over the unsweetened, just for a little extra flavor.  When a treat is made of nothing but chocolate and heavy cream, what more can a little sweetener do really?

Dark Chocolate Truffles
Adapted from Ghirardelli Dark Chocolate Truffle Recipe
Makes 30 truffles

Ingredients:
1/3 c. heavy whipping cream
6 Tbsp unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
8 oz dark chocolate baking bar
1/3 c. dark chocolate flavor cocoa powder

To Do:
1: In a small saucepan, simmer the cream.  Add butter and stir until completely melted. Break up the bar of chocolate and add the pieces one at a time.  Stir until melted and smooth.
2: Remove from heat.  Pour the chocolate into a shallow bowl and cool.  Cover, then refrigerate for 2 hours.
3: Sift cocoa powder onto a large plate or parchment paper. Working quickly, form truffle mixture into 30, 1-inch balls.  Roll over cocoa powder.  Serve immediately or refrigerate in an airtight container. They also make delicious frozen treats!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna permalink
    January 8, 2011 1:48 pm

    These look d to the e to the l-i-c-i-o-u-s.

    Next up: bourbon balls!! (Pretty please)

    • January 10, 2011 4:26 pm

      Coming up…bourbon bread pudding. I hope that can hold you over until I get better at truffles!

Leave a Reply

