Skip to content

Fighting the Flu with Food

January 6, 2011

Happy New Year!

The excitement and commotion of the holidays and December birthdays caught up with me last month.  My unexpected hiatus from blogging is a result of a nasty cold that’s been trailing me the last couple weeks.  Every time I get ill during the winter, or even slightly feel is coming, I can hear my mom’s voice in my head, “Drink plenty of liquids.”  I don’t know about you, but I have a tough time remembering to drink almost anything, but hot tea in the winter!  I just can’t always sense when my body is becoming dehydrated.

The following soup is something simple I made.  It includes hearty ingredients, but also plenty of spiced liquid.  After eating, I felt full and refreshed.

The rehydrating drink is a recipe my neighbor shared with me.  She drinks it daily without the optional ingredients.  I’m not a fan of the original flavor, but when I drink it, I feel absolutely refreshed!  My body temperature settles and my head clears.

Does anyone else have homemade remedies for seasonal cold or flu symptoms?

Cabbage Lentil Soup
Serves 8

Ingredients:
2 c. dried green or brown lentils, rinsed
4 c. water
2 large carrots, chopped
1/2 head of cabbage, chopped (about 6 c.)
4 cloves garlic, chopped
1/2 c. mushrooms, chopped
2 Tbsp salt
2 Tbsp cumin
2 Tbsp chili powder
2 tsp turmeric
2 tsp pepper
9 c. water

To Do:
1: Add lentils and 4 cups water to a large saucepan.  Bring to a boil and cook for 3-5 minutes, until the lentils just begin to soften.  Add carrots, cover slightly and simmer for 15 minutes.
2: In a large sauté pan, heat oil and add cabbage, garlic and mushrooms.  Sauté just until garlic becomes fragrant.  Add cabbage mix to lentils. Stir in spices and 9 cups water. Slightly cover and simmer for about 20-25 minutes.  Stir occasionally.

____________________________________________________________

Homemade Rehydrating Drink
Makes 4 cups

Ingredients:
1 qt water
1 Tbsp sugar
1 tsp salt
Optional: 1 Tbsp citrus juice or 1 tsp granulated ginger

Heat water just enough to dissolve sugar and salt (optional, ginger powder).  Cool, then add a citrus flavor before serving.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna permalink
    January 8, 2011 1:45 pm

    I’m sick right now – and that soup looks like the best thing ever. I may try and add a hot pepper to it to break up congestion (do NOT try if you also have an irritated throat! I found out the hard way).

    Also, the rehydrating drink is great for an upset stomach, too. Especially if you add lemon juice.

  2. January 10, 2011 4:28 pm

    Thanks Anna for the added info. My neighbor must be a smart lady to drink this everyday. Seems like it’s so naturally cleansing for the body.

Leave a Reply

