Skip to content

Citrus Glazed Lemongrass Poppy Seed Loaf

November 24, 2010

Unfortunately so near to my favorite holiday, I have been m.i.a. from my kitchen.  Last week around this time, I was whisked away on a spontaneous visit to see my Kentucky family.  I was hopeful about cooking, baking and blogging at my momma’s house, but I overestimated myself.

For one thing, I didn’t have the internet and rarely had phone service.  No real complaints though.

My biggest oversight was forgetting that my momma’s fridge is always crammed with food there is rarely a need to make more.  A casserole dish balanced on four milk gallons in the back, two bunches of collard green carefully tucked into a small drawer with cauliflower and bell peppers, egg cartons nestled near a package of chicken over a towel, a package of portobellos balanced on plastic containers of leftovers, and enough condiments lined against the door to last the next three years.  All of the items are perfectly squeezed into their place like a game of Tetris, of which my mother is the champion.  The light in her fridge actually seems dim due to the amount of company it keeps.

I  did manage to make one loaf of sweet bread, using mostly ingredients I’d brought.  It’s Thanksgiving season, so my momma’s entire kitchen is packed to the nine.  I almost needed a GPS system just to track down powdered sugar!

Lemongrass gives this loaf a subtle citrusy flavor, but without a bite.  It’s not an sugar-lover’s dessert, just a simple after-dinner snack.

Photo by Jonathan

Citrus Glazed Lemongrass Poppy Seed Loaf
Makes 1, 9×5 inch loaf

Ingredients:
3/4 c. whole wheat flour
3/4 c. unbleached all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
3/4 c. granulated sugar
1/2 c. butter
1 egg
1/2 c. milk
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp lemon juice
1/2 c. lemongrass, minced
1/4 c. poppy seeds

Glaze:
2 Tbsp milk
2 Tbsp lemon juice
1/2 c. powdered sugar

To Do:
1: Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour loaf pan.
2: In a large bowl, shift the flours, baking powder and baking soda.
3: In a medium bowl, cream together sugar and butter.  Whisk egg in a small bowl, them combine with the sugar mixture.  Add milk, vanilla and lemon juice.  Mix well.
4: Incorporate sugar mixture into dry ingredients.  Fold in lemongrass and poppy seed.
5: Pour batter evenly into loaf pan.  Bake for 1 hour or until golden brown and baked through. Allow the bread to cool about 10-15 minutes before applying a glaze.
6: To make a simple glaze, combine milk, lemon juice and powdered sugar in a small bowl. Drizzle over loaf then serve.

Hope you enjoy!  Happy Thanksgiving!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

