Skip to content

Breakfast, a Bee and Grape Big Bundt Cake

September 30, 2010

Fresh Stovetop Autumn Granola
Makes 2 cups

Ingredients:
1 1/4 c. old fashioned oats
1 Tbsp flaxseed
1 small apple, diced
2 Tbsp butter or margarine
2 Tbsp brown sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt

To Do:
1: Heat a large skillet over medium-low heat.  Add oats, flaxseed and apple. Toast over the stove for about 5 minutes, stirring frequently.
2: Once the apples begin to soften, add the remaining ingredients.  Stir well and toast about 3-5 minutes more.
3: Enjoy over bundt cake (below), with milk or by itself.

__________________________________________________________________________

In the autumn during my teen years, I was often recruited by my best friend, Anna, to help pick grapes on her family’s vineyard.  These grapes were the only I’d ever tasted that weren’t store-bought and shipped from South America, so I found them very intriguing. Unlike their souther cousins, the local grapes had thick sour skins and were bursting with juicy sweet flavor inside!  I had no idea where else to get these magical grapes, so I was always eager to help.  It meant I could eat to my heart’s desire as long as I filled up a couple large wooden crates.

On one particular afternoon, Anna led me down the regular path to the vineyard.  Not too far from from the house, we began to hear an odd buzzing sound.  Somehow without knowing, we had stepped right into a line of fire!  Before we recognized the sound and could turn back, I had something attached to my upper lip. A honey bee.  I waved my hands in panic and tried to blow the bee away, which I realize now was probably a dumb move.  It was too late anyway, the bees were angry and out for blood!  We took off screaming back to the house, Anna stripping her clothes along the way as bees flew up her shirt.  I think we still ended up helping with some of the grape-picking, although my sizable upper lip was covered in a baking soda paste and I no longer had an appetite.  To this day, we still refer to that incident as the day I had a “dinosaur lip.”

To make a long story short, I had a nostalgic moment at the farmer’s market when I saw concord grapes.  They’re my favorite variety.   I guess I was feeling a little too nostalgic, because I bought more than my husband, Jonathan, and I could possibly eat.  We shared some and I made a cup of grape juice with the rest.  It took about a pint of grapes (or a little less), heated up and mashed to make the juice.  It’s now in the budnt cake, which tastes like candy, but not overly sweet.  I added the granola and honey before serving.

__________________________________________________________________________

Grape Bundt Cake
Makes 1 small cake

Ingredients:
1/2 c. butter or margarine
1 1/2 c. granulated sugar
1 c. soymilk, warm
4 egg replacers
1/2 c. grape juice (I used a homemade Concord Grape juice that is a bit thicker than store-bought)
3 tsp. vanilla
1 1/2 unbleached all-purpose flour
1 1/2 whole wheat flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 c. cocoa powder
1/2 tsp salt

To Do:
1: Preheat oven to 350°F.  Grease and flour the bundt cake pan.
2: In a large bowl, whisk together the butter and sugar.  Mix in the soymilk, egg replacers, grape juice and vanilla.
3: In another large bowl, combine all-purpose flour, whole wheat flour, baking powder, cocoa and salt together.  All the wet ingredients to the dry and mix well. Pour batter into the bundt cake and bake 45 minutes-1 hour.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anna permalink
    October 1, 2010 5:50 pm

    Did you really have to tell that story? Haha and we call you Dino Lip, Sydney does a pretty great impression. Glad you found some grapes, maybe I wouldn’t hate them if they were in a cake.
    P.S. I have some interesting news about asparagus.

Leave a Reply

