Skip to content

Vegetarian Crab Cakes

September 19, 2010

Since leaving meat out of my diet, six years ago, I must admit that I’ve had occasional cravings for one particular creature- crab.  I’ve only ever eaten it twice, but gave it up once I realized that they’re usually cooked the same way as lobster.  Being boiled alive isn’t the way I would want to go, so it was an easy enough choice. Also, I live in the midwest, so it’s simple to go without seafood.  I have absolutely no desire to eat something that’s been on a longer road-trip than I!  The thought of eating crab meat came up again when a friend recently familiarized me with a local company that produces vegan meats.  The company is called MATCH and is based in Saint Louis.  There are several “match meats,” and they  are all surprisingly versatile to cook with and don’t taste anything like cardboard or over-spiced beans. In fact they taste delicious, don’t take long to thaw and there is no worry about cross contamination in the kitchen!   I get to support a local company and it supports vegetarians like me.  Win Win!!

The following recipe is something I made up today for lunch.  So yummy!

Vegetarian Crab Cakes
Serves 4-6

Ingredients:
1 lb MATCH Crab Meat, thawed
1 small white onion, diced
1 clove garlic, minced
1 Tbsp dill
1 egg
3 Tbsp miracle whip
1 tsp honey-dijon mustard
1 tsp white wine vinegar
1/4 c. crushed crackers
2 Tbsp olive oil

To Do:
1:  In a large bowl, mix together all ingredients except the olive oil.  Shape into 2-3 inch patties (about 1 inch thick).
2: Heat 1 Tbsp olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  Cook half of the patties about 5 minutes on each side or until golden brown and warm in the center.  Repeat.

__________________________________________________________________________

Creamy Crab Sauce

Ingredients:
6 Tbsp miracle whip
2 tsp honey-dijon mustard
2 tsp white wine vinegar
2 tsp dill

Mix all ingredients in a bowl, then top on warm crab cakes before serving.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2010 1:47 pm

    Hmm. I have never heard of Match and may try it. I typically don’t like many of the meat replacement products.

    • September 19, 2010 4:07 pm

      If you visit the Match meat website, there is a way to find where it may be served or sold in your area. Beyond Saint Louis, it looks like they distribute in Chicago and Colorado, but I’m not sure where else. Worth a try though!

Leave a Reply

