Skip to content

Talking Over Dinner

June 15, 2010

Summer camp is wearing me out!   It’s week two and I barely have the energy to make pie, let alone write this entry.  Over a week is far too long to leave a blog, so I apologize (yet again).  It would be much easier if this were my full time job.  And so it is that I am becoming much more serious about applying into culinary school.  Teaching the basics to kids is fun, but there’s so much more I have yet to learn!

Yesterday I had an urge to visit one of the local independent bookstores in town.  I’m grateful that the feeling of finding treasure was in the air, because it is certainly what happened! The food section at this particular shop never ceases to amaze me.  I found a new take-home: 101 Things I Learned in Culinary School, by Louis Eguaras and Matthew Fredrick.  I’m no book critic, but I will say that I find this small book easy to read, easy to handle and overflowing with basic culinary knowledge.  It skips over the cooking basics, but gets down into restaurant knowledge, kitchen lingo and reviewing common misconceptions. Brilliant!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

