Skip to content

Kitchen Experiment: Rhubarb Jelly

May 23, 2010

My kitchen is a disaster zone…er at least it was a few hours ago.  A complete disaster zone with pink goo dripped along the counter, stuck to the sides of a blender and forgotten residue on several tasting spoons.  I made rhubarb jelly today.  I thought I would be reporting an experiment gone wrong, but after letting my sorry sight of a spread sit for several hours, I am proud to say that it actually did become jelly!  I made up the recipe, so it’s not perfect by any means (it turned out a little cloudy in appearance), but it works!  Like the rhubarb pie, I hope to continue improving my preserve-making skills throughout the year with other fruits, but WOW the rhubarb is sweet and tangy. yUm.

Of everything I ever ate as a child, my mother’s homemade blackberry preserve is what I loved/now miss the most.  Blackberry is still my favorite flavor (with the seeds).  How I wish I had know what a blessing it was to find the wild  berries growing all along the woods around our home.  We would pick them by the bucketful on hot summer days and stuff ourselves until our tongues and tummies turned purple.  Even after the berry feast, my mother still had plenty left over to preserve for the winter months and keep our taste buds satisfied.  After being spoiled for so many childhood summers, I find it quite difficult to bring myself to purchase blackberries these grown up days.  None are as sweet as the wild ones.

Rhubarb Jelly
Makes a 12 ounce jar
Ingredients:
1 lb rhubarb, chopped
1/4 c. water
1 c. sugar
2 TBS low-sugar pectin powder
1/4 teaspoon ginger
1 TBS fresh lemon juice
To Do:
1:
In a medium saucepan, add rhubarb and water.  Bring to a boil. Stir occasionally.
2: Mix in the sugar and pectin. Continue to boil. Stir until the pectin is well blended.  (Use a blender on low or “mix” for a smooth jelly)
3: Once everything is blended, turn the heat to medium-low and stir in ginger and lemon juice. Once they are well blended, pour the mixture (leaving about 1/2 inch at the top if freezing) into a clean container that can be well sealed.  Allow it to cool, then apply the lid and freeze or refrigerate.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

