Skip to content

Flaky Crust Rhubarb Pie

May 21, 2010

A week of rhubarb wouldn’t be complete without a pie.  It seems to certainly be the favorite way to eat this tasty tart treat and one that I have yet to try myself.  I thought I would experience my first taste of rhubarb pie, one of my very own creation, in the presence of family, so I made it to share with my in-laws. As much as I love to bake, I don’t have much experience with rolling out crusts or creating juicy sweet sauces.  In fact, I actually had to go out and purchase a new (glass) pie pan for the occasion.  How embarrassing…but my new 9.5 inch pyrex was a great thrift store find- only 54 cents!  Since I have little pie-making experience and I needed a good dish for my in-laws, I decided to keep it relatively safe by (mostly) following recipes.  I certainly changed several things, based on what I prefer or had in my pantry, but was highly inspired by this crust and that pie filling.  This was great fun to make and bake, but especially to eat.  The half whole wheat crust kept the bottom from getting doughy, which I prefer.  I can’t wait for blueberry and blackberry season!

© Lauren Adeline

Flaky Pie Crust
Makes 1 crust (9 in)
Ingredients:
1/2 c. unbleached all-purpse flour
1/2 c. + 2 TBS whole wheat flour
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 c. solidified coconut oil
1 egg
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
ice water

Rhubarb Pie Filling
Serves 12
3 TBS tapioca starch
6 c. rhubarb, chopped
1 c. brown sugar
1/2 c. granulated sugar
1/4 c. cornstarch
1/8 tsp salt

Topping:
1 c. old-fashioned oats
1 TBS granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 TBS solidified coconut oil

To Do:

1: Make the crust- in a medium bowl, mix together the flours and salt.  Make a well in the center and add the coconut oil.  Mix together so that the texture is somewhat crumbly.
2: Add the egg and vinegar and mix until just incorporated.
3: Form a dough ball. (Add ice water, 1 TBS at a time if the dough is too crumbly or flour if it is too sticky)
4: Flatten into a circle 1/2 inch thick. Wrap in plastic and refrigerate for 20 minutes. Meanwhile…
5: Preheat the oven to 350°F
6: In a large bowl, mix together rhubarb, tapioca starch, sugars, cornstarch and salt. Let stand until the crust refrigeration time is finished.
7: Take the crust and roll out further into an 11 inch circle. Fold in half and transfer to the pie pan. Press the sides down and flute the edges.
8: Place rhubarb filling into the crust and bake for 40 minutes.
9: In a medium bowl, combine the ingredients for the pie topping- oats, sugar, ginger, cinnamon and coconut oil. Roughly chop and mix together so that the texture is crumbly.
10:  Increase the oven to 375°F, the sprinkle the topping over the pie. Bake another 15 minutes.


One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Howdy Pandowdy «

Leave a Reply

